What do you need to get your car inspected in Maine? The following are checked during the safety inspection: brake system, body and chassis, defrost, electrical system, exhaust system, fuel system, glass and mirrors, horn, lighting system, odometer, steering, suspension, tires, and windshield wipers/washing system.
How do I get an inspection sticker in Maine? For Questions about Ordering Inspection Stickers (Licensed Garages Only) call – 207-624-8934. To inquire about inspection station and mechanic licensing call – 207-624-8935.
Is there a grace period for car inspection in Maine? vehicles inspected before their inspection stickers expire. This Act will allow those drivers a 24-hour “grace period” after they have received a warning for an expired sticker before a law enforcement official issues them a citation.
How much does a car inspection cost in Maine? VIP’s Certified Automotive Professionals will perform your Maine State Inspection 7 days a week. The cost in Maine is $12.50 per vehicle, except in Cumberland County where the cost is $18.50 (includes emissions testing).
Table of Contents
What do you need to get your car inspected in Maine? – Related Questions
How long does a Maine inspection take?
There are no appointments necessary. How long does an inspection take? Once a vehicle enters our bay, the process takes about 15 minutes for a vehicle that passes.
Is Maine getting rid of vehicle inspections?
Maine, one of 16 states to require annual vehicle inspections, will likely continue to do so. The Legislature’s Transportation Committee has voted against endorsing a slate of bills that would have changed or eliminated Maine’s motor vehicle safety inspection program.
Is Maine getting rid of car inspections?
AUGUSTA, Maine — The Maine Legislature is set to consider a proposal to eliminate the need for most annual state vehicle inspections. The proposal, from Democrat Sen. Dave Miramant of Camden, would get rid of the need for an inspection for vehicles that are less than 20 years old.
How much is a ticket for no inspection sticker in Maine?
If you do not have a current or valid inspection sticker, the fine is $133. Same goes for no sticker. Kelly,they cut it in half for you to get the work done that needs to be done NOW not procrastinate and think its okay to not get it done and drive around for another week or so.
How long does a car inspection take?
Car inspections generally take between 20 minutes and 90 minutes. But, the time it takes to inspect a car will vary on a few things. The time it takes for state inspections to approve a vehicle is safe for driving will depend on the state and the specific regulations and requirements.
Is a NH inspection sticker good in Maine?
Registered. If you buy a vehicle in NH new or used we (NH state inspection dealer) can issue you a sticker and Maine will honor our stickers. But NH will not honor Maine.
What is the fine for expired inspection sticker in Maine?
Seventy-five dollars if the inspection sticker has been 2 invalid or the registration has been expired for more than 3 months.
Does Maine require trailers to be inspected?
Intrastate Commerce: A trailer or semi-trailer must be inspected annually if it is used in intrastate commerce and the total combined gross weight exceeds 10,000 pounds, except that trailers or semi-trailers with a gross weight of 3,000 pounds or less are exempt.
Do antique cars need inspection in Maine?
Antique vehicles, like the kind you see in Maine parades, are not required to be inspected, according to Maine state law. Under the law, a vehicle is considered antique if it is 25 years old or older, substantially in its original condition and cannot be used as a primary vehicle.
Can I drive without inspection sticker?
While driving any motor vehicle without a valid inspection sticker is a traffic violation that may result in a fine and impact individual insurance rates, the RMV is asking law enforcement to use their discretion at this time and help remind and not cite those with expired stickers it’s time to renew.
How much is an inspection sticker in RI?
How much will the inspection cost? The RI Emissions and Safety Testing Program inspection costs $55.00 and provides a sticker good for two years.
Does Jiffy Lube do car inspections?
Vehicle Inspections and Diagnostics
For quick and convenient inspections and testing, Jiffy Lube® may offer the services you need to help ensure your vehicle meets local emissions and/or safety requirements.
Can I buy a car in NH if I live in Maine?
New Hampshire is one of just five states that do not have a sales tax, so you’re in luck when you need to purchase a vehicle. However, if you live in neighboring Vermont, Maine or Massachusetts, you cannot simply go to New Hampshire to buy a car to avoid paying sales tax.
Is there an extension on inspection stickers in Maine?
Governor Janet Mills issued an executive order last week that indefinitely extends expiration dates on all vehicle inspection stickers and registrations, as well as driver’s licenses and state IDs. Expiration dates are extended until the state of emergency caused by the spread of coronavirus in Maine is lifted.
Why do people tag their trailers in Maine?
Residents of Delaware — and a number of other states — register their trailers in Maine because it’s cheaper and easier, since Maine doesn’t require an annual trailer safety inspection, Williams said. Unlike Delaware, Maine doesn’t require that a person registering a trailer in the state be a resident.
Do I need a CDL to pull a 14000 lb trailer?
A 14000# GVWR trailer would need to be pulled by a truck exceeding 12000# GVWR to have a GCWR over 26000# requiring a CDL. Most newer model 2500 series trucks are under 11000# with some older models in the upper 8000’s.
Can I drive my tractor on the road in Maine?
Drive tractors on the shoulder of paved highways, if possible. Do not drive with the tractor and machinery over part of the shoulder and part of the paved lane. If it is not possible to drive on the shoulder, drive on the paved lane.
How many miles can you drive an antique auto in Maine?
The state puts limitations on the use of antique vehicles, which must be at least 25 years old, with antique plates. For example, their owners may drive them to car club activities, in parades and on pleasure trips of no more than 250 miles from home. The state also gives their owners some benefits.
How old does a car have to be in Maine to not need a title?
821/H.P. 587) has been introduced in the Maine State Legislature to allow vehicles 15 or more model years old to be exempt from needing a certificate of title or certificate of salvage to register the vehicle. Under current law, only vehicles model year 1995 or older are exempt from titling requirements.
How long do I have to register my car in Maine?
Passenger vehicles are registered annually on a staggered basis. Generally, registrations expire one year from the month issued. The payment of municipal excise (property) taxes is a prerequisite for all motor vehicle registrations. Excise taxes must be paid to your town office prior to registration.
Are new cars safer than older cars?
It’s a fact – newer cars are safer than older cars. Advanced technologies and improved structural designs make newer cars a safer choice for your family. NHTSA data shows that fatality rates increase among those driving older vehicles.